This is the official blog for the American Red Cross in the National Capital Region. Read our Terms of Use here.

Mission Statement

The American Red Cross prevents and alleviates human suffering in the face of emergencies by mobilizing the power of volunteers and the generosity of donors. 

Brief History

In 1908, the DC Chapter was organized under the vision of Mabel Boardman and received its Charter from the American Red Cross. Three years later, in 1908, it organized the first class in the country for first aid instruction. The chapter later established the first canteen service in the United States, known as the Refreshment Corps.

More than 100 years later, the chapter has evolved into the National Capital Region and has responded to the terrorist attack on the Pentagon, the tornado at the University of Maryland, sniper and anthrax attacks, and tropical storms and hurricanes that have impacted the local area and beyond.

The National Capital Region Today

The American Red Cross in the National Capital Region serves the District of Columbia; cities of Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas City, Manassas Park and Alexandria and the counties of Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, and Prince William in Virginia, and Montgomery and Prince George's Counties in Maryland.

National Capital Region Red Cross

No comments:

Post a Comment